Social Entrepreneurship in the Age of Atrocities

Social Entrepreneurship in the Age of Atrocities

Changing Our World

Edited by Zachary D. Kaufman

Social Entrepreneurship in the Age of Atrocities provides crucial insight into social entrepreneurship from visionaries in the field as well as other experienced practitioners and renowned theorists. While this book focuses on social entrepreneurship as it relates to genocide and other atrocities, the experiences and lessons learned also apply to additional critical social, economic, legal and political problems such as healthcare, development, education and literacy.

Social entrepreneurship resources and institutions

Edited by Zachary D. Kaufman

Subjects: business and management, social entrepreneurship, development studies, development studies, social entrepreneurship, law - academic, human rights, politics and public policy, human rights, social entrepreneurship

Extract

1 SOCIAL ENTERPRISES PROFILED IN THIS BOOK Africa & Middle East Refugee Assistance (http://www.amera-uk.org/) Americans for Informed Democracy (http://www.aidemocracy.org/) Asylum Access (http://www.asylumaccess.org/) Children of Abraham2 Fahamu Refugee Programme (http://www.srlan.org/) Generation Rwanda (http://www.generationrwanda.org/) Indego Africa (http://www.indegoafrica.org/) Kigali Public Library (http://www.kigalilibrary.org/) National Vision for Sierra Leone3 Orphans Against AIDS (http://www.orphansagainstaids.org/) Southern Refugee Legal Aid Network (http://www.srlan.org/) Stichting 3R (http://www.stichting3r.nl/) EXAMPLES OF OTHER WESTERN SOCIAL ENTERPRISES FOCUSING ON ATROCITIES Before Project (http://www.beforeproject.org/) Campaign for Innocent Victims in Conflict (http://www.civicworldwide.org/) CeaseFire (http://www.ceasefirechicago.org/) Coalition for the International Criminal Court (http://www.iccnow.org/) Darfurian Voices (http://www.darfurianvoices.org/) Enough (http://www.enoughproject.org/) Facilitating Opportunities for Refugee Growth & Empowerment (http://www. forgenow.org/) Falling Whistles (http://www.fallingwhistles.com/) Global Youth Connect (http://www.globalyouthconnect.org/) Humanity in Action (http://www.humanityinaction.org/) International Center for Transitional Justice (http://www.ictj.org/) International Peace & Security Institute (http://www.ipsinstitute.org/) 225 226 Social entrepreneurship in the age of atrocities Invisible Children (http://www.invisiblechildren.com/) Khmer Legacies (http://www.khmerlegacies.org/) Mercy Corps (http://www.mercycorps.org/) Not on Our Watch (http://www.notonourwatchproject.org/) Peace Direct (http://www.peacedirect.org/) Peace Dividend Trust (http://www.peacedividendtrust.org/) PeacePlayers International (http://www.peaceplayersintl.org/) Play31 (http://www.play31.org/) Polaris Project (http://www.polarisproject.org/) Res Publica (http://www.therespublica.org/) Right to Play (http://www.righttoplay.com/) SMS: Legal (http://legal.frontlinesms.com) Stand (http://www.standnow.org/) Stop Genocide Now (http://www.stopgenocidenow.org/) A Thousand Sisters (http://www.athousandsisters.org/) Unite For Sight (http://www.uniteforsight.org/) United to End Genocide (http://www.endgenocide.org/) Witness (http://www.witness.org/) BOOKS Aaker, Jennifer and Andy Smith (2010), The Dragonfly Effect: Quick, Effective, and Powerful Ways to Use Social Media to Drive Social...

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

Elgaronline requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals. Please login through your library system or with your personal username and password on the homepage.

Non-subscribers can freely search the site, view abstracts/ extracts and download selected front matter and introductory chapters for personal use.

Your library may not have purchased all subject areas. If you are authenticated and think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

Further information