Table of Contents

Women’s Entrepreneurship in the 21st Century

Women’s Entrepreneurship in the 21st Century

An International Multi-Level Research Analysis

Edited by Kate Lewis, Colette Henry, Elizabeth J. Gatewood and John Watson

Women’s Entrepreneurship in the 21st Century is the fourth in the series of books emanating from the DIANA International Research Network. The volume takes a multi-dimensional approach to coalesce a series of chapters around the central theme: gender and entrepreneurship today and in the future. The chapters span a diverse range of countries, methodologies, and levels of analysis – however, they all seek to contribute to an advancing understanding of women and their engagement with entrepreneurial endeavours.

Introduction: an international multi-level research analysis

Kate V. Lewis, Colette Henry, Elizabeth J. Gatewood and John Watson

Subjects: business and management, entrepreneurship, gender and management


One of the many rich opportunities presented via an endeavour such as the Diana Project is to aggregate a cohort of researchers around a bounded topic of interest, and observe the way in which their discoveries both coalesce around key dimensions and break out to push forward the boundaries of understanding. An associated privilege of such a network is to seek from its members, and interested observers, written contributions to books that capture the vibrancy and value of those research activities. The international nature of the Diana network, and its associated activities such as conferences, is fertile ground for attaining the type of scope and scale that is often difficult to achieve in terms of linked individual research projects. We are fortunate to build on a fine tradition of Diana volumes (Brush et al., 2006; Brush et al., 2010; Hughes and Jennings, 2012) and it is our view that this current book has been no less successful in achieving its international ambitions. The 14 chapters in this volume span a wide geographic spread, and derive data from a diverse range of countries: the Czech Republic, the United States of America, China, Japan, Bangladesh, Vietnam, Poland, Northern Ireland, Sweden, France, Slovenia and the Caribbean.