Chapter 10: The Xayaburi Dam on the Mekong River
Restricted access

The Mekong flows for approximately 4,350 kilometers (2,700 miles) from its headwaters and is shared by six countries: Tibet/China, Myanmar, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, and Vietnam. Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam, were granted independence from France in 1954. Following positive diplomatic ties between Vietnam and the U.S. in 1995, all of these states, except for China, entered into the Agreement on the Cooperation for the Sustainable Development of the Mekong River. As part of that Agreement, the four states acknowledged that the Mekong River Basin and the related natural resources and environment are very important natural assets of immense value to each of them and their peoples. However, in 2010, the Lao and Thai governments commenced construction of the 1,285 megawatt Xayaburi Dam on the Mekong River, in violation of the treaty. The dam, expected to begin operating in 2020, will destroy the Mekong’s rich fisheries, cause the relocation of thousands of people, and destroy a thousand-year effort at self-sufficiency.

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

Access options

Get access to the full article by using one of the access options below.

Other access options

Redeem Token

Institutional Login

Log in with Open Athens, Shibboleth, or your institutional credentials

Login via Institutional Access

Personal login

Log in with your Elgar Online account

Login with your Elgar account