Chapter 4: Australia - the oceanic continent
Restricted access

This chapter examines Australia's maritime space, and more specifically its maritime boundary disputes across several oceans. Australia has entered into maritime boundary treaties with Indonesia, Timor-Leste, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, New Zealand and France, in effect settling all its maritime boundaries with its neighbours, with the latest settlement coming as recently as 2018 with Timor-Leste. However, this overall achievement did not come without costs and can also be seen as the result of continuous efforts at pursuing settled maritime zones starting in the early 1970s. This chapter explores each of the boundary agreements made with six different countries, summarising some main trends and commonalities across these processes.

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

Access options

Get access to the full article by using one of the access options below.

Other access options

Redeem Token

Institutional Login

Log in with Open Athens, Shibboleth, or your institutional credentials

Login via Institutional Access

Personal login

Log in with your Elgar Online account

Login with you Elgar account