Chapter 7: Norway - looking to Russia and the Arctic
Restricted access

This chapter examines Norway's maritime boundaries across different oceans; the Norwegian Sea, the North Sea, the Icelandic Sea, and the Barents Sea. The northern European countries around the North Sea - Norway, the UK, Netherlands and Denmark - were among the first to push for an extension of maritime zones in the postwar period, during a time when this was becoming accepted around the globe. Having established an EEZ along its entire coast in 1976, Norway also decided to establish a fisheries protection zone (FPZ) around the Svalbard Archipelago in 1977.

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

Access options

Get access to the full article by using one of the access options below.

Other access options

Redeem Token

Institutional Login

Log in with Open Athens, Shibboleth, or your institutional credentials

Login via Institutional Access

Personal login

Log in with your Elgar Online account

Login with you Elgar account