Competition Policy and Regional Integration in Developing Countries
Show Less

Competition Policy and Regional Integration in Developing Countries

Edited by Josef Drexl, Mor Bakhoum, Eleanor M. Fox, Michal S. Gal and David J. Gerber

The book provides insights on the regional integration experiences in developing countries, their potential for development and the role of competition law and policy in the process. Moreover, the book emphasizes the development dimension both of regional competition policies and of competition law. Although it holds many promises for developing countries, some challenges must be overcome for the process of creating a regional market and applying a competition law, to be successful. This timely book delivers concrete proposals that will help to unleash the potential of regional integration and regional competition policies, and help developing countries fully enjoy the benefits deriving from a regional market.
Buy Book in Print
Show Summary Details
You do not have access to this content

Chapter 3: Southern African Development Community (SADC) Regional Competition Policy

Gladmore Mamhare


Gladmore Mamhare 1. BACKGROUND The Southern African Development Community (SADC) has been in existence since 1980, when it was formed as a loose alliance of nine1 states in Southern Africa known as the Southern African Development Coordination Conference (SADCC), with the aim of coordinating development projects. It was transformed into a Development Community in 1992, when the Declaration and Treaty was signed, thereby giving the organization a legal character. The SADC now consists of 15 member states.2 The total population of the SADC was 277 million people in 2010 and its total gross domestic product (GDP) was US$577 billion.3 South Africa is the biggest economy in the Community, with a GDP of over US$282 billion, representing about 65 percent of the total SADC market. The largest country in terms of population is the Democratic Republic of Congo, with a population of about 61 million. In contrast, Botswana, Seychelles, Mauritius, Namibia and Swaziland each have populations of two million or less. The per capita GDP also varies widely, ranging from as high as US$7690 to as low as US$160. The average per capita GDP for the SADC region in 2010 was US$2074. The average growth in 2008 was 4.5 percent and declined to 2.7 percent in 2009, most likely due to the global financial crisis. 1 Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Swaziland, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe. 2 Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland,...

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

Elgaronline requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals. Please login through your library system or with your personal username and password on the homepage.

Non-subscribers can freely search the site, view abstracts/ extracts and download selected front matter and introductory chapters for personal use.

Your library may not have purchased all subject areas. If you are authenticated and think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

Further information

or login to access all content.