Competition Policy and Regional Integration in Developing Countries
Show Less

Competition Policy and Regional Integration in Developing Countries

Edited by Josef Drexl, Mor Bakhoum, Eleanor M. Fox, Michal S. Gal and David J. Gerber

The book provides insights on the regional integration experiences in developing countries, their potential for development and the role of competition law and policy in the process. Moreover, the book emphasizes the development dimension both of regional competition policies and of competition law. Although it holds many promises for developing countries, some challenges must be overcome for the process of creating a regional market and applying a competition law, to be successful. This timely book delivers concrete proposals that will help to unleash the potential of regional integration and regional competition policies, and help developing countries fully enjoy the benefits deriving from a regional market.
Buy Book in Print
Show Summary Details
You do not have access to this content

Chapter 6: Regional Integration and Competition Policy in the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) Region

Mbissane Ngom


Mbissane Ngom 1. INTRODUCTION The opening of national economies to competition has become a fundamental necessity and in many respects a condition for economic development. The experiences of the South East Asian countries have sufficiently proven this. Unquestionably, in a few cases, this development, whose pace was sometimes forced, was detrimental to human rights. However, the economic progress achieved by such Asian ‘tigers’ remains, and can inspire other developing countries. The creation of the World Trade Organization (WTO) and the globalization of the economy have led to the necessity for all countries to enact a competition policy to enhance the rivalry between economic operators. Developing countries, and especially the West African countries, have adopted a collective approach towards disciplining the market. Hence, the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)1 also strives for an implementation of a competition law and policy, following the example of the West African Economic and Monetary Union (WAEMU). ECOWAS was created in Lagos on 28 May 1975. The constitutive treaty was modified in Cotonou on 24 July 1993. Its main objective was to create an intra-regional West African market. In order to achieve this, ECOWAS 1 ECOWAS has 15 member states: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Ivory Coast, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo. ECOWAS has approximately 290 million inhabitants. For more information on ECOWAS see: 116 Columns Design XML Ltd / Job: Drexl-Competition_Policy_and_Regional_Integration / Date: 29/5 / Division:...

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

Elgaronline requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals. Please login through your library system or with your personal username and password on the homepage.

Non-subscribers can freely search the site, view abstracts/ extracts and download selected front matter and introductory chapters for personal use.

Your library may not have purchased all subject areas. If you are authenticated and think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

Further information

or login to access all content.