Regional Environmental Law
Show Less

Regional Environmental Law

Transregional Comparative Lessons in Pursuit of Sustainable Development

Edited by Werner Scholtz and Jonathan Verschuuren

The core focus of this timely volume is to ascertain how regional environmental law may contribute to the pursuit of global sustainable development. Leading scholars critically analyze the ways in which states may pool sovereignty to find solutions to environmental problems, presenting a comparative legal analysis of the manner in which the AU, EU, OAS and ASEAN deal with the issues of climate change, human rights and the environment.
Buy Book in Print
Show Summary Details
You do not have access to this content

Chapter 11: Introduction to European Union environmental law

Ludwig Krämer


The European Union (EU) is the best-known regional international organization with, at present, 28 Member States. It was set up in 1957 as the European Economic Community and had a predecessor in the European Coal and Steel Community of 1950. Over the years, its objectives, areas of activity and legal basis have evolved considerably; environmental, social and political objectives were included and the organization was renamed the ‘European Union’. At present, the Treaties of the European Union constitute a form of constitution of the EU. The EU does not have a general competence to deal with all political or societal matters of policy, like a State; it may only act within the limits fixed by the Treaties. The following institutions of the EU were established (Article 13 TEU): The European Council, composed of the Heads of State and Government of the Member States, the President of the European Council and the President of the European Commission. The European Council meets at least twice a year and determines the general political objectives and priorities. It is the highest political institution of the EU. The European Parliament, which has a maximum of 750 representatives, who are elected in general, direct elections in all Member States. Each Member State has at least six and not more than 96 representatives. The Council, which consists of one representative per Member State, normally at ministerial level.

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

Elgaronline requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals. Please login through your library system or with your personal username and password on the homepage.

Non-subscribers can freely search the site, view abstracts/ extracts and download selected front matter and introductory chapters for personal use.

Your library may not have purchased all subject areas. If you are authenticated and think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

Further information

or login to access all content.