The Nobel Memorial Laureates in Economics
Show Less

The Nobel Memorial Laureates in Economics

An Introduction to Their Careers and Main Published Works

Howard R. Vane and Chris Mulhearn

Erudite, accessible and lucidly written, this book provides a stimulating introduction to the careers and main published works of the Nobel Memorial Laureates in Economics. It will prove to be an invaluable reference book on key figures in economics and their path-breaking insights. The vignettes should also encourage the reader to sample some of the Laureates’ original works and gain a better understanding of the context in which new ideas were first put forward.
Buy Book in Print
Show Summary Details
You do not have access to this content


Howard R. Vane and Chris Mulhearn


THE 1980 NOBEL MEMORIAL LAUREATE LAWRENCE KLEIN LAWRENCE KLEIN Lawrence R. Klein (b. 1920) © The Nobel Foundation Lawrence Klein was born in Omaha, Nebraska, USA in 1920. He obtained a BA from the University of California, Berkeley in 1942 and a PhD from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1944. Klein was a graduate student under Paul Samuelson (the 1970 Nobel Memorial Laureate), and The Keynesian Revolution, his revised doctoral thesis, was subsequently published in 1947 (Klein, 1947b). In 1944, he joined the Cowles Commission at the University of Chicago as a research associate, and subsequently worked in the same capacity at the National Bureau of Economic Research from 1948 to 1950, and the Survey Research Center at the University of Michigan from 1949 to 1954. In 1954, in response to Senator Eugene McCarthy’s anti-communist witch-hunt, Klein left the United States for Great Britain where he joined the staff at the Oxford University Institute of Statistics, first as a senior research officer and then as reader. After four years at the Institute, Klein left Oxford in 1958 and returned to America as professor at the University of Pennsylvania, where he remained until he retired from teaching in 1991. He is currently the Benjamin Franklin Professor of Economics, Emeritus, at the University of Pennsylvania. Klein’s many offices and honours have included the award of the John Bates Clark Medal of the American Economic Association in 114 LAWRENCE KLEIN 1959, and election to the presidencies of the Econometric Society in...

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

Elgaronline requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals. Please login through your library system or with your personal username and password on the homepage.

Non-subscribers can freely search the site, view abstracts/ extracts and download selected front matter and introductory chapters for personal use.

Your library may not have purchased all subject areas. If you are authenticated and think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

Further information

or login to access all content.