The Nobel Memorial Laureates in Economics
Show Less

The Nobel Memorial Laureates in Economics

An Introduction to Their Careers and Main Published Works

Howard R. Vane and Chris Mulhearn

Erudite, accessible and lucidly written, this book provides a stimulating introduction to the careers and main published works of the Nobel Memorial Laureates in Economics. It will prove to be an invaluable reference book on key figures in economics and their path-breaking insights. The vignettes should also encourage the reader to sample some of the Laureates’ original works and gain a better understanding of the context in which new ideas were first put forward.
Buy Book in Print
Show Summary Details
You do not have access to this content


Howard R. Vane and Chris Mulhearn


THE 1987 NOBEL MEMORIAL LAUREATE ROBERT SOLOW ROBERT SOLOW Robert M. Solow (b. 1924) © The Nobel Foundation Robert Solow was born in Brooklyn, New York, USA in 1924. In receipt of a scholarship he entered Harvard College in 1940 only to interrupt his undergraduate studies in 1942 when he joined the US army during the Second World War. On his discharge from the army in 1945 Solow returned to Harvard, obtaining a BA in 1947, an MA in 1949 and a PhD in 1951. He was awarded the prestigious David A. Wells Prize for best dissertation of 1951 for his doctoral thesis on the dynamics of income distribution. The thesis was not published because Solow thought it could be improved, but he never made the revisions he deemed were necessary. Before completing his thesis he was appointed, in 1949, as Assistant Professor of Statistics at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), where he was subsequently promoted to Associate Professor of Statistics in 1954, Professor of Economics in 1958 and institute professor in 1973. Since 1995 he has been Institute Professor Emeritus at MIT. Solow’s many offices and honours include: the award of the John Bates Clark Medal of the American Economic Association in 1961 and the National Medal of Science in 1999; and election to the presidencies of the Econometric Society in 1964, the American Economic Association in 1979 and the International Economic Association from 1999 to 2002. From 1961 to 1962 he served on the US 158 ROBERT SOLOW...

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

Elgaronline requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals. Please login through your library system or with your personal username and password on the homepage.

Non-subscribers can freely search the site, view abstracts/ extracts and download selected front matter and introductory chapters for personal use.

Your library may not have purchased all subject areas. If you are authenticated and think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

Further information

or login to access all content.