The Nobel Memorial Laureates in Economics
Show Less

The Nobel Memorial Laureates in Economics

An Introduction to Their Careers and Main Published Works

Howard R. Vane and Chris Mulhearn

Erudite, accessible and lucidly written, this book provides a stimulating introduction to the careers and main published works of the Nobel Memorial Laureates in Economics. It will prove to be an invaluable reference book on key figures in economics and their path-breaking insights. The vignettes should also encourage the reader to sample some of the Laureates’ original works and gain a better understanding of the context in which new ideas were first put forward.
Buy Book in Print
Show Summary Details
You do not have access to this content


Howard R. Vane and Chris Mulhearn


THE 1988 NOBEL MEMORIAL LAUREATE MAURICE ALLAIS MAURICE ALLAIS Maurice F.C. Allais (b. 1911) © The Nobel Foundation Maurice Allais was born in Paris, France in 1911. He studied at the École Polytechnique in Paris, from where he graduated in 1933. After a year of military service and two years at the École Nationale Supérieure des Mines in Paris he started work in 1936 as a public service engineer. From 1937 to 1943 he served as head of the Mines and Quarries Service in Nantes and was director of the Bureau of Mines Documentation and Statistics in Paris from 1943 to 1948. In 1949 he was awarded his doctorate in engineering from the Faculty of Science at the University of Paris. Allais’s academic career began in 1944 when he was appointed Professor of Economic Analysis at the École Nationale Supérieure des Mines, a post he held until 1988. From 1946 to 1980 he was director of a research unit at the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) – the National Centre for Scientific Research. He was also Professor of Theoretical Economics from 1947 to 1968 at the Institute of Statistics, University of Paris and Professor of Economics at the Graduate Institute of International Studies, Geneva from 1967 to 1970. He was a member of the editorial board of Revue d’Économie Politique from 1952 to 1984 and of Econometrica from 1959 to 1969. Among his many offices and honours are numerous prizes including, in 1978, the...

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

Elgaronline requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals. Please login through your library system or with your personal username and password on the homepage.

Non-subscribers can freely search the site, view abstracts/ extracts and download selected front matter and introductory chapters for personal use.

Your library may not have purchased all subject areas. If you are authenticated and think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

Further information

or login to access all content.