The Nobel Memorial Laureates in Economics
Show Less

The Nobel Memorial Laureates in Economics

An Introduction to Their Careers and Main Published Works

Howard R. Vane and Chris Mulhearn

Erudite, accessible and lucidly written, this book provides a stimulating introduction to the careers and main published works of the Nobel Memorial Laureates in Economics. It will prove to be an invaluable reference book on key figures in economics and their path-breaking insights. The vignettes should also encourage the reader to sample some of the Laureates’ original works and gain a better understanding of the context in which new ideas were first put forward.
Buy Book in Print
Show Summary Details
You do not have access to this content


Howard R. Vane and Chris Mulhearn


THE 2004 NOBEL MEMORIAL LAUREATES FINN KYDLAND AND EDWARD PRESCOTT FINN KYDLAND Finn E. Kydland (b. 1943) © The Nobel Foundation Finn Kydland was born in Gjestal, near Stavangar, Norway in 1943. He studied economics at the Norwegian School of Economics and Business Administration (NHH) in Bergen, graduating in 1968 with the Norwegian Siviløkonom. He remained at NHH as a research scholar for a time before moving to Carnegie-Mellon University, where he was awarded an MS in 1972 and a PhD in 1973. Kydland’s PhD adviser at Carnegie-Mellon was his fellow Laureate, Edward Prescott. Kydland’s academic career began in 1973 when he took up the post of assistant professor at NHH. In 1976 he returned to the United States, first as visiting scholar at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis, before moving in 1977 to Carnegie-Mellon as visiting fellow. In 1978 he was appointed associate professor at CarnegieMellon, becoming Professor of Economics in 1982. In 2004, a few months before the award of his Nobel Prize, Kydland took up his present post as the Henley Professor of Economics at the University of California, Santa Barbara. Kydland’s professional work includes research associate affiliations with the Federal Reserve Banks of Cleveland, Dallas and St Louis, and he has been a member of the editorial board of Macroeconomic Dynamics since 1996. His honours and awards include the 332 FINN KYDLAND John Stauffer National Fellowship in Public Policy from the Hoover Institution at Stanford University (1982–83), and the Alexander Henderson Award for...

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

Elgaronline requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals. Please login through your library system or with your personal username and password on the homepage.

Non-subscribers can freely search the site, view abstracts/ extracts and download selected front matter and introductory chapters for personal use.

Your library may not have purchased all subject areas. If you are authenticated and think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

Further information

or login to access all content.