The Nobel Memorial Laureates in Economics
Show Less

The Nobel Memorial Laureates in Economics

An Introduction to Their Careers and Main Published Works

Howard R. Vane and Chris Mulhearn

Erudite, accessible and lucidly written, this book provides a stimulating introduction to the careers and main published works of the Nobel Memorial Laureates in Economics. It will prove to be an invaluable reference book on key figures in economics and their path-breaking insights. The vignettes should also encourage the reader to sample some of the Laureates’ original works and gain a better understanding of the context in which new ideas were first put forward.
Buy Book in Print
Show Summary Details
You do not have access to this content

Chapter 37: Glossary of Selected Associations, Awards, Institutions and Societies

Howard R. Vane and Chris Mulhearn


American Academy of Arts and Sciences The American Academy of Arts and Sciences was founded in 1780. An international learned society, with a current membership of 4000 American fellows and 600 foreign honorary members, the academy is based in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Members, who have demonstrated ‘exceptional achievement’, and who are drawn from ‘science, scholarship, business, public affairs, and the arts’, engage in a wide variety of multidisciplinary studies of problems in society. For more information, see the American Academy of Arts and Sciences website at: American Economic Association (AEA) The AEA was organised in 1885 at Saratoga, New York. Currently based at Nashville, Tennessee, its present-day objectives include: (i) ‘the encouragement of economic research’; (ii) ‘the issue of publications on economic subjects’; and (iii) ‘the encouragement of perfect freedom of economic discussion’ – partly facilitated by an annual meeting. Among its publications are the prestigious American Economic Review (first published in 1911), the Journal of Economic Literature (first published in 1969) and the Journal of Economic Perspectives (first published in 1987). Today, the AEA has approximately 18,000 members. Over half its membership is associated with academic institutions, approximately 15 per cent with business and industry, and the balance largely with federal, state and local government agencies. Past presidents of the AEA include Nobel Memorial Laureates (with year of presidency in brackets): Simon Kuznets (1954), Theodore Schultz (1960), Paul Samuelson (1961), George Stigler (1964), Milton Friedman (1967), Wassily Leontief (1970), James Tobin (1971), Kenneth Arrow (1973), Franco Modigliani (1976)...

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

Elgaronline requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals. Please login through your library system or with your personal username and password on the homepage.

Non-subscribers can freely search the site, view abstracts/ extracts and download selected front matter and introductory chapters for personal use.

Your library may not have purchased all subject areas. If you are authenticated and think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

Further information

or login to access all content.