Show Less

Public Expenditure Control in Europe

Coordinating Audit Functions in the European Union

Edited by Milagros Garciá Crespo

This book presents a comprehensive analysis of public expenditure control in Europe and the coordination strategies available. It provides a detailed scrutiny of the various audit systems in the EU and the difficulties in building consistency or harmony between them. The book demonstrates how successful strategies should aim to strengthen the collaboration between different layers of government at the EU, national and regional levels.
Buy Book in Print
Show Summary Details
You do not have access to this content

Chapter 5: The system of public control in Spain

Milagros García Crespo


Milagros García Crespo INTRODUCTION For nearly 40 years, and up to 1975, when General Franco died, Spain was ruled by a dictatorship. As has been said many times before, the transition towards a democratic system was exemplary and allowed in a short time the adoption by consensus of a Constitution, approved in 1978, which after four decades signalled the beginning of modernization. The State model established by the new democratic Constitution is a parliamentary monarchy. There is strict separation of duties between the legislature, the executive and the judiciary. Legislative power is vested in the Cortes Generales, which consist of the Congress of Deputies (the lower house) and the Senate (the upper house). The Congress is the more powerful of the two chambers and can revoke decisions made by the Senate. The international isolation of Spain during the dictatorship period resulted in a set of political, social and economic organizations which were highly centralized. The new Constitution had to tackle the question of decentralization, giving way to the creation of autonomous regions, the Comunidades Autónomas, enjoying a considerable degree of selfgovernment. Since 1978, the process of decentralization has gone a long way, although not without tensions, and the Spanish territory has finally been divided into 17 autonomous communities, varying greatly in size, population, economic capacity and desire for self-rule. The territorial arrangement set up by the Constitution incorporates also the province and the borough as autonomous bodies for the management of their own particular interests. Side by side...

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

Elgaronline requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals. Please login through your library system or with your personal username and password on the homepage.

Non-subscribers can freely search the site, view abstracts/ extracts and download selected front matter and introductory chapters for personal use.

Your library may not have purchased all subject areas. If you are authenticated and think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

Further information

or login to access all content.