Regionalism, Trade and Economic Development in the Asia-Pacific Region
Show Less

Regionalism, Trade and Economic Development in the Asia-Pacific Region

Edited by M. A.B. Siddique

This book is based on the premise that Regional Trade Agreements (RTAs) in the Asia-Pacific significantly impact on the material progress of the peoples of this region. These impacts – in terms of the benefits and costs associated with RTAs – will vary greatly from country to country. The internationally acclaimed contributors examine the theoretical perspective of RTAs in relation to exchange rates, the role and goals of the WTO and agriculture.
Buy Book in Print
Show Summary Details
You do not have access to this content

Chapter 15: Regionalism, Trade and Economic Development in the Asia-Pacific Region: Challenges Ahead

M.A.B. Siddique


15. Regionalism, trade and economic development in the Asia-Pacific region: challenges ahead M.A.B. Siddique INTRODUCTION Regional trade agreements (RTAs) are established with the main objective of increasing the flow of total trade by eliminating trade barriers between the signatory countries. These agreements are expected to bring these countries one step closer to globalization as trade barriers are reduced. However, RTAs may lead to trade friction as increased trade flows between the member economies of a regional bloc (trade creation) may take place at the expense of the non-member economies (trade diversion). There are two main facets of RTAs: bilateral and multilateral. The advancement of RTAs in the Asia-Pacific region has gained momentum in recent years. Singapore and Japan signed an Economic Partnership Agreement in 2002. Australia established two Free Trade Agreements (FTAs) during 2003: the Singapore–Australia Free Trade Agreement (SAFTA) and the Thailand–Australia Free Trade Agreement (TAFTA), in addition to the Closer Economic Relations established with New Zealand (ANZCERTA), in force since 1998. Australia also concluded a Free Trade Agreement with the USA (AUSFTA) on 8 February 2004. Negotiations were also completed between the ASEAN 10 (Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam) and China, with the ASEAN–China Free Trade Area coming into force on 1 January 2005. The United States has, on the other hand, signed nine RTAs: two with the countries included in North American Free Trade Agreement (Canada and Mexico), and seven more with Australia, Chile, Israel,...

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

Elgaronline requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals. Please login through your library system or with your personal username and password on the homepage.

Non-subscribers can freely search the site, view abstracts/ extracts and download selected front matter and introductory chapters for personal use.

Your library may not have purchased all subject areas. If you are authenticated and think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

Further information

or login to access all content.