The Measurement of Voting Power
Show Less

The Measurement of Voting Power

Theory and Practice, Problems and Paradoxes

Dan S. Felsenthal and Moshé Machover

This book is the first of its kind: a monograph devoted to a systematic critical examination and exposition of the theory of a priori voting power. This important branch of social-choice theory overlaps with game theory and is concerned with the ability of members in bodies that make yes or no decisions by vote to affect the outcome. The book includes, among other topics, a reasoned distinction between two fundamental types of voting power, the authors' discoveries on the paradoxes of voting power, and a novel analysis of decision rules that admit abstention.
Buy Book in Print
Show Summary Details
You do not have access to this content

Chapter 5: Weighted Voting in the CMEC

Dan S. Felsenthal and Moshé Machover


5.1 Legislative Process of the EC The Council of Ministers (CM) is the principal law-making organ of the European Community (EC).1 At present it is perhaps the bestknown international body that uses a system of weighted voting for passing most of its decisions. This is how the legislative process of the EC operates. The European Parliament, the CM and the Commission — acting jointly — make regulations and issue directives, take decisions, make recommendations and deliver opinions. A regulation is binding and directly applicable in all member states. A directive is binding as far as the result to be achieved is concerned, but leaves to the national authorities the choice of forms and methods for achieving The other top organs of the EC are the Commission, the European Parliament, the European Court of Justice, and the Court of Auditors. The EC is the most important of three technically separate but interconnected ‘pillars’ that constitute the European Union (EU). The EU was formed by the Maastricht Treaty which was signed on 7 February 1992 and took effect in November 1993. The task of the EC is to promote harmonious and balanced development of economic activities among the (currently 15) member states. The other two ‘pillars’ of the EU are common foreign and security policy (CFSP), and common justice and home affairs policies (JHA). The EC comprises three formerly separate but interrelated European Communities: the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC), the European Economic Community (EEC), and the European Atomic Energy Community...

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

Elgaronline requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals. Please login through your library system or with your personal username and password on the homepage.

Non-subscribers can freely search the site, view abstracts/ extracts and download selected front matter and introductory chapters for personal use.

Your library may not have purchased all subject areas. If you are authenticated and think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

Further information

or login to access all content.