Research Handbook on Cross-border Enforcement of Intellectual Property
Show Less

Research Handbook on Cross-border Enforcement of Intellectual Property

Edited by Paul Torremans

The Research Handbook on Cross-border Enforcement of Intellectual Property systematically analyses the unique difficulties posed by cross-border intellectual property disputes in the modern world. The contributions to this book focus on the enforcement of intellectual property primarily from a cross-border perspective. Infringement remains a problematic issue for emerging economies and so the book assesses some of the enforcement structures in a selection of these countries, as well as cross-border enforcement from a private international law perspective. Finally, the book offers a unique insight into the roles played by judges and arbitrators involved in cross-border intellectual property dispute resolution.
Buy Book in Print
Show Summary Details
You do not have access to this content

Chapter 7: Cross-border enforcement of intellectual property rights: Africa

Marius Schneider and Vanessa Ferguson


Africa is the world’s second largest and second most populated continent. The continent comprises 54 countries, all of which are members of the African Union, other than Morocco. The continent of Africa can be conceptually divided into a number of regions: North Africa lies north of the Sahara and runs along the Mediterranean coast. According to the United Nations definition, North Africa includes seven countries or territories: Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Sudan, Tunisia, Western Sahara. West Africa is the western-most region of the African continent. West Africa contains large portions of the Sahara Desert and Adamawa Mountains. This region includes 16 countries and one overseas territory: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Saint Helena, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo. East Africa or Eastern Africa stretches from the Red Sea and the Horn of Africa to Mozambique, including Madagascar. In the UN scheme of geographic regions, 20 territories constitute Eastern Africa: Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi comprise the African Great Lakes region and are members of the East African Community (EAC); Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia and Somalia, collectively known as the Horn of Africa; Mozambique and Madagascar; Malawi, Zambia and Zimbabwe; Comoros, Mauritius and Seychelles, small but beautiful island nations in the Indian Ocean; Réunion and Mayotte, French overseas territories, also in the Indian Ocean; South Sudan, newly independent from Sudan.

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

Elgaronline requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books or journals. Please login through your library system or with your personal username and password on the homepage.

Non-subscribers can freely search the site, view abstracts/ extracts and download selected front matter and introductory chapters for personal use.

Your library may not have purchased all subject areas. If you are authenticated and think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

Further information

or login to access all content.