Chapter 10: Politics of the four European microstates: Andorra, Liechtenstein, Monaco and San Marino
Restricted access

Reflecting their diminutive size and protracted existence as sovereign states, the political systems of the four European microstates – Andorra, Liechtenstein, Monaco and San Marino – contain various idiosyncratic elements, as well as some unique political institutions. The chapter offers an in-depth analysis of the political systems, international relations and economic and societal characteristics of these four European microstates. Moreover, European integration and the exploitation of niche markets have provided these very small states with great opportunities. Yet, as with other small states, such occasions are always accompanied by risks and vulnerabilities.

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

Access options

Get access to the full article by using one of the access options below.

Other access options

Redeem Token

Institutional Login

Log in with Open Athens, Shibboleth, or your institutional credentials

Login via Institutional Access

Personal login

Log in with your Elgar Online account

Login with you Elgar account