European Energy & Climate Journal

European Energy & Climate Journal (EECJ) is a quarterly journal which presents accessible coverage on the key legal and regulatory energy issues and developments throughout Europe to practitioners and academics in the field.

It reports recent and forthcoming legislative and regulatory changes in the areas of energy policy, internal market, energy competition law, energy security, energy efficiency, renewable energy and climate change. It covers European Energy Union case law, legislation and its implementation by Member States. With contributions from leading practitioners, judges, EU energy authority officials and academics, EEJ provides authoritative legal analysis of the law and policy, all of which is presented in an accessible manner.

Editorial Team


  • Kerstin Duhme, Senior Managing Director, Head of Energy and Natural Resources Brussels, Belgium, FTI Consulting

Editorial Board

  • Nicole Ahner, Scientific Coordinator of the Loyola de Palacio Chair; Research Fellow at the Florence School of Regulation, European University Institute, Florence, Italy
  • Matteo Di Castelnuovo, PhD, Director, Master in Green Management, Energy and CSR (MaGER), Bocconi University; Director Africa Lab, Professor of Practice in Energy Economics, SDA Bocconi, Milan, Italy
  • Susanne Nies, Managing Director Strategy & Communications, ENTSO-E, Brussels, Belgium
  • John Ratliff, Partner, WilmerHale, Brussels, Belgium
  • Johannes Reichl, Project Manager, Energy Institute, Johannes Kepler University, Linz, Austria
  • Lena Sandberg, Of Counsel, Gibson Dunn, Brussels, Belgium
  • Tibor Scharf, Member of Legal service, European Commission, Brussels, Belgium
  • Simone Tagliapietra, Senior Researcher, Fondazione Eni Enrico Mattei (FEEM; Research Fellow, Bruegel, Brussels, Belgium; Lecturer, Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Milan, Italy
  • Kirsten Westphal, Senior Associate, Global Issues research division, SWP, Berlin, Germany
  • Alex Wilson, Policy Analist, European Parliament, Brussels, Belgium
  • Georg Zachmann, Senior Fellow, Bruegel, Brussels, Belgium

Advisory Board

  • Walter Boltz, Executive director E-control; Vice President, ACER Board of Directors
  • Dörte Fouquet, Partner Becker Büttner Held, Brussels, Belgium
  • Jean Michel Glachant, Director of the Florence School of Regulation; Holder of the Loyola de Palacio Chair European University Institute, Florence, Italy
  • Manfred Hafner, Professor , Johns Hopkins University, SAIS-Europe and Sciences Po, Paris; Coordinator of the 'Energy Policy & Scenarios" research programme, Fondazione Eni enrico Mattei (FEEM); Vice-President Consulting at Enerdata
  • Christopher Jones, Principal Advisor, Baker McKenzie, Brussels; Part-time Professor of Energy Law and Policy, European University Institute, Florence, Italy
  • Lars Kjolbye, Partner, Latham & Watkins; Former Head of Unit Energy, DG COMP, European Commission
  • Mark van Stiphout, Deputy Head of Unit, New energy technologies, innovation and clean coal, DG ENER, European Commission
  • Jean Arnold Vinois, Former Acting Director, Security of Supply, Energy Markets and Networks, DG ENER, European Commission
  • Jorge Vasconceles, President NEWES

Author Submissions

Information for authors on how to submit their article for consideration to the European Energy and Climate Journal will be available shortly.

Download our Journals Ethics Policy

The Ethics and Malpractice Statement will be available to download here shortly